What's on

The Chief Minister’s NT Book Awards

NT books published in 2022 and 2023 are eligible for submission.

Started by the NT Writers’ Centre in 2009, and originally called Territory Read, the Chief Minister’s NT Book Awards have celebrated excellence amongst published authors residing in the NT for over a decade. With generous support from the Northern Territory Government and the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund these awards have developed into the premier prize for authors in the NT, shining a light on the talent, flair and originality of Territory stories.

The awards draw national attention to NT writers and in the past have served to raise the profile of remote, regional and Indigenous voices. Thanks to the generosity of the Chief Minister, we are again pleased to open three categories; Best Fiction Book, Best Non-Fiction Book, Best Young Adult or Children’s Book. Explore all past winners here.

The total prize money in 2024 is $36,000 across all categories.

Submissions open: Friday 19 April 2024

Entries close: 5pm on Friday 17 May 2024

A shortlist will be announced in September 2024. 

Apply now

Winners will be announced at a ceremony at The Darwin Bookshop, October 2024.

Submissions are sought for the following awards:

Best Fiction Book

For a work of fiction in any form or genre (prose or poetry) by an NT resident.

Best Non-Fiction Book

For a prose work other than fiction. Includes biography, auto-biography, creative non-fiction, history, philosophy and literary criticism by an NT resident.

Best Young Adult or Children’s Book

For a published book in either genre by an NT resident. In the case of picture books, prize money will be split between the author and the illustrator.

Submission Guidelines


How to Enter


Additional Information

The 2024 Chief Minister's Book Awards Judges

Leni Shilton

Marie Munkara

Jane Godwin