About Us

The NT Writers Centre encourages vibrant literary activity in the Northern Territory, developing and supporting writers in all genres at all stages of their careers. We value quality NT writing as a unique component of Australia’s literary wealth and recognise Indigenous writers and storytellers as a core component of this.


As well as our ongoing member services, we offer a program of workshops, opportunities and showcase events across the NT including an annual Writers’ Festival.

NT Writers’ Festival Our annual cornerstone event shifts location between Darwin & Alice Springs.

Territory Read biennial NT Book Awards

Imprint annual members magazine (previously Write Turn)

Andrew McMillan Memorial Residency and Eco House Residency Annual writers residencies

NTWC Staff

Executive Director – Darwin Sally Bothroyd

Program Manager – Alice Springs Fiona Dorrell

Festival Director, 2019 NT Writers’ Festival – Alice Springs Dani Powell

Festival Manager, 2019 NT Writers’ Festival – Alice Springs Rita Horanyi

Darwin project office – Kingsley Gittins

NTWC Board

Our Board Members as of April 23, 2019 are –

President: Dr Adelle Sefton-Rowston (Darwin)

Adelle Sefton-Rowston has a PhD in literary studies and lectures at Charles Darwin University. She has published numerous essays, reviews, poetry and prose. Adelle’s forthcoming book is being published with Peter Lang and explores contemporary literature and representations of race relations in Australia.

Vice President: Christian Bok (Darwin)

Christian Bok is an experimental poet, originally from Canada, and a lecturer for Literary Studies at the School of Arts and Humanities at Charles Darwin University.

Regional Vice President: Tanya Heaslip (Alice Springs)

Tanya Heaslip was raised in Central Australia through the 1960s and 70s, has practised law for many years throughout Australia, and now returned to live in Alice.  In May 2019 she published her memoir ‘Alice to Prague’ (AU) and is currently working on her second memoir. She is an AICD Graduate.

Secretary: Varunika Ruwanpura (Darwin)

Varunika Ruwanpura has a Master of Philosophy in Journalism. She is a journalist, writer, researcher and arts professional. Her published children’s books are: Exotic Animal Carers, This is my brother and Breakfast in the Jungle. She works for the Northern Centre for Contemporary Art in Darwin.

Treasurer: Bronwyn Druce (Alice Springs)

Bronwyn is the manager of Alice Springs independent bookseller Red Kangaroo Books.

Public Officer: Shona Ford (Darwin)

Shona Ford is a school teacher with a love of creative writing. She’s a past winner of an NT Literary Award, and has encouraged many of her students to also enter the Youth category of the Awards.

Ordinary Members:

Maureen O’Keefe (Alice Springs)

Maureen Jipyiliya Nampijimpa O’Keefe is a Kaytetye-Warlpiri woman born and raised in Ali-Curung, south-east of Tennant Creek. Her poems and short stories have appeared in print and online. In 2014 she was the recipient of the Magabala Books Australian Indigenous Creators’ Scholarship and she has performed at Writers’ Festivals across the country.

Fred van’t Sand (Darwin)

Fred van’t Sand is a performance poet with a long affiliation with the NT Writers’ Centre.

Dina Davis (Darwin)

Dina Davis is an Australian woman writer. She holds an MA in English and Linguistics. Dina is a member of the NTWriters Centre, Writing NSW, and the Australian Society of Authors. Dina has twice been shortlisted in the NT Literary Awards. In 2018 she published her debut work of fiction, ‘Capriccio: A Novel’ which was launched in Darwin. Dina’s interests include literature, history, and all aspects of human rights.

Alice Springs Advisory Committee

The NTWC would also like to acknowledge the invaluable ongoing work of our Alice Springs advisory committee –

Pat Ansell-Dodds

Sue Fielding

Meg Mooney

Craig San Roque

Leni Shilton

Kimberley Zenneth

Advertise with Us

NT Writers’ Centre offers digital and print advertising options. For a list of our current rates email executive@ntwriters.com.au

Work with Us

NT Writers’ Centre employs writers and industry professionals to run workshops and writing groups. To pitch a workshop idea, please email executive@ntwriters.com.au